Ole!

Happy Thursday everyone! So I know my posts have been pretty sporadic lately and I’m sorry! My goal is to post at least once a day while I’m down here, just because it gets quite hectic during the day. Yesterday we decided to take a drive down to Presque Isle, which is a Peninsula right near where my Mom lives. She said it was gorgeous over there so we decided to take a peak and maybe a walk. Unfortunately, it started to rain on our way over there so there wasn’t much walking involved but I did manage to snag a few pictures for you guys.

Other than the rain it was absolutely gorgeous!

So today, I had my favorite standard breakfast this morning when I woke up before we hit Grove City to do some outlet shopping. 2 whole grain waffles, some peanut butter, sliced banana, and some chia seeds.

Then we were off to Grove City where we stopped at Nike, Under Armour (Where I work back home!), and J Crew. I bought some new shorts, a quarterzip, and a couple of sports bras on super sale! I love outlet shopping since I never pay retail for anything due to the fact that I am one broke college student.

Two Tanks from American Eagle

3 Pairs of Under Armour Quick Step Shorts

Nike QZip, Two Compression Sports Bras, and a pair of Tempo Shorts

So when we got back it was definitely time for lunch and we had the perfect solution. Taco salads! We decided to make some taco meat, the healthy way with no taco seasoning packets, but our own spices and made a healthy taco salad.

Healthy Taco Meat (Serves 4-6 depending on serving preference):
1 lb of 99% fat free ground turkey breast
2 tsp of Chili Powder
2 tsp Ground Cumin
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Black Pepper
1 tsp Sea Salt
1 tsp Paprika
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 tsp Tabasco Sauce or Red Pepper Flakes
1/2 tsp Dijon Mustard
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Combine the meat and all of the ingredients into a saute pan and cook until the meat is cooked all the way through.

We assembled the taco meat into a salad by loading up our plates with some lettuce, taco meat, reduced fat shredded cheese, salsa, and some crumbled up tortilla chips. You obviously can add whatever you want, taco salads are awesome. Maybe top it with some plain Greek yogurt or actually make it into a wrap. 🙂 Unfortunately, I ate it so fast I forgot to take a picture for you all, BUT IT WAS SOME SERIOUS GOOD EATS! I recommend everyone try it. We also turned that serving size into 2 haha. My roommate and I were seriously hungry when we got back.

After an impromptu food coma we went to the gym to do a run since we did all upper body yesterday with absolutely no sweat session. I ran 4.5 miles and cooled down for the last 0.5 walking. The Planet Fitness down here is completely different! There is this giant final destination fan on the ceiling. It was scary at first and blew a lot of wind, but it was awesome once you began to get super duper hot.

Anyways, I hope everyone had an awesome day! Sorry again for the sporadic posts.

Leave a Reply

