Italian Quinoa Bowl

Happy Saturday, lovebugs!

I woke up to the lovely sound of rain this morning and figured I was in no rush to get to the gym and set out to make myself a delicious warm breakfast. Egg, cheese, and jelly bagelwich to the rescue! I put 2 eggs, 1 slice of Sargento thin cheddar and mozzarella blended cheese slice, and organic no sugar added grape jelly on a bagel flat.

It hit the spot. After letting that digest and watching my guilty pleasure of Alaska State Troopers, my roommate and I headed to the gym where I completed a 3.5 mile run/incline walk alternating. I was sweating like a man! My gosh, I was just dripping everywhere. Sexy, right? šŸ˜‰ My roommate and I were eating strawberries in the car on the way home while busting out New Kids on the Block. Oh yes, throwback! We are such gems in the car. I wish I could show you guys. Maybe one day I will tape her without her realizing it so you can hear her try to sing opera to Dirty Dancing… It’s a treat and a half. She’s just going to love that line in this post.

Anyways, for lunch I had one of my favorite new salad beasts! Chicken, granny smith apple, cucumber, kale, and spinach salad with Annie’s Lite Honey Mustard Vinaigrette. It’s like an explosion of delicious flavors and textures in your mouth!

Now onto what I had on the side. I found these chips at Wegman’s but haven’t been able to find them at home, but they are amazing. They are sprouted tortilla chips. All the ingredients seems to be super healthy and they are just the best tasting chips ever! I wish this company was more widely available because you get like over a full serving of vegetables within one serving of the chip. I eat a ton of vegetables daily, but it’s kind of a cool way to sneak them in when you aren’t feeling the greenage.

Just figured I would give you guys the visuals in case you find them near you and want to try them! I highly recommend them because they are just like tortilla chip crack!

Moving on to the most important and most exciting part of this post! I hope people have stuck with me up until this point, because this may be the best recipe I have ever come up with. For the first time I decided to try quinoa tonight. I have heard about all the crazy benefits and how awesome it is, but I didn’t actually get any until recently and figured tonight was the night to come up with something fun. I came up with this recipe on the treadmill since I was bored with my run, but let me tell you it was incredibly successful. It was so creamy and full of flavor. Did I mention it was healthy?! You can obviously change up the vegetables to whatever your favorite ones happen to be, I just love bell peppers. Without further ado, this is my gift to you all. šŸ˜‰

Italian Quinoa Bowl
Serves 1

Ingredients
1/3 cup of Organic Quinoa
1/4 cup Marinara or Favorite Pasta Sauce
1 Laughing Cow Sundried Tomato Basil Mozzarella Cheese Wedge
1/2 of a red bell pepper
1/4 of a green bell pepper
1/4 of an onion
1 Mild Italian Chicken Sausage
1 tsp minced garlic
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions
Cook the quinoa as directed on the package. While the quinoa is cooking, saute bell peppers and onions in olive oil or non-stick cooking spray with the minced garlic. Once the onions are translucent add the sausage and cook through.

Once the quinoa is done cooking add in warmed up marinara sauce and laughing cow wedge. Add the sausage and pepper mix to the quinoa once cooked and enjoy!

Nutritional Stats (according to Myfitnesspal)
Calories: 353
Carbs: 46 g
Fat: 13 g
Protein: 22 g

Seriously guys it is so good! I would love to hear what you think. Let me know if you try it and like it.

Leave a Reply

