Running on Fumes

Happy humps day!

So lately I have run into the problem of not being able to sleep at night. Every morning I have to get up decently early for class, between 6-8 am, and every morning I find myself still awake around 4 am. This is causing me to run on fumes haha. I mean honestly, I am dragging butt! Normally I am ready way before my roommate in the morning because I like to sit down, enjoy my breakfast, catch up on some blog reading, and just chill out. This morning I was so tired I couldn’t get out of bed for like 20 minutes then had to rush around like a maniac because I was running so late. I think I may end up trying melatonin! A ton of people have suggested it on twitter, thanks Liz!! Also, I have heard a lot of people talking about it just in general, so I may give that a try to see if it helps. Anyone else have the problem where their mind runs a mile a minute about the most random things while they are trying to fall asleep?

Thank the Lord I started making my breakfast last night. I found this recipe from the blogs Clean Eating Chelsey and Sweet Tooth Sweet Life. It was a giant bowl of voluminous pumpkin banana oatmeal topped with more banana sliced and some peanut butter. It hit the spot… In the car… While I was stuffing my face before class. Thank God my roommate drives on Wednesdays!

They were pretty delicious. However, I am starting to crave my standard chocolate peanut butter oats so that might be making an appearance soon. 🙂 After breakfast in the car we had to head to straight to our personality class. This class easily takes the cake of being my favorite class this semester. It’s really interesting! We haven’t gotten to the good stuff yet, but in a couple of weeks we will be taking personality tests, which I am really excited about and fully plan on sharing with you guys. 🙂

I also wanted to share my dinner from last night since it was so delicious. I have to say again how surprised I am that I haven’t tried quinoa up until this week. It’s the easiest thing in the world to cook and makes everything taste better! So I am on the hunt for new quinoa recipes to incorporate in my diet. I also need to buy the prewashed kind because I don’t have a small enough strainer so I have to use some weird ziploc container contraption I came up with. Anyways, last night I made a standard soy sauce and lemon chicken stir fry with edamame and red and green bell peppers. I threw in some minced garlic for good measure because let’s be honest here, I love me some garlic. Then I just cooked up a 1/3 cup of organic quinoa and tossed it into the stir fry when it was done. Holy deliciousness! I can’t even believe how versatile this little seed it. It definitely filled me up for a late night at the gym. We are starting to head there even later, like around 9, because the gym is still packed at 7-8 and I am just not up for fighting for room to lift.

At the gym we completed the Tuesday workout I posted earlier and it felt really good! I am a little sore today, which is awesome because I wasn’t expecting to be since I forgot to do all the last sets to failure. I guess I was lifting heavy enough cause I felt the burn. After the gym I had my standard love affair with a waffle, peanut butter, banana, and chia seeds and managed to read an entire chapter of pharmokokinetics before bed. I honestly thought that was going to do the trick of putting me to sleep earlier, but once I finished the chapter my boredom subsided and I was wide awake again. I have problems.

Question of the day: Is anyone else having trouble sleeping lately? What do you do to combat the random insomnia?

Leave a Reply

