3 Bean Turkey Chili

Hey everyone!

Sorry for my long awaited post haha. I tried to avoid anything on the internet today after a crushing and heartbreaking loss to the Giants yesterday. Yes, I am that much of a football fan that I was so emotionally invested in the game I cried… Then didn’t come online until now. But that’s all I want to say about that game since both teams played their hearts out and up until the end it was anyone’s game to win.

Moving on to what most people actually care about! The food! So yesterday my roommate and I woke up to make the pancakes like I mentioned yesterday. But since the batter makes so much we had a few leftovers, which made an appearance in today’s breakfast. I know warming up pancakes in the microwave sounds gross, but these ones hold up really well. I topped my two pancakes with sliced banana, 1 tbsp of Maranatha peanut butter, and chia seeds.

After class today, my roommate and I went to the gym completing last weeks Monday workout. As I said last week, we will be doing this workout for about a month and see how it works before trying something new. 🙂 If you do try it, always make sure to check with a physician first and listen to your body. If it hurts don’t do it, it’s probably not a good sign.

Alrighty, so moving on to the recipe from yesterday’s dinner. We made a modified version of Jamie Eason’s 3 Bean Turkey Chili, which can be found on http://www.bodybuilding.com. But I am going to post the changes I made since I didn’t want as much chili in my fridge for the next week. 🙂 We are leaving for Pennsylvania in a couple days and our freezer is packed.

Jamie Eason’s 3 Bean Turkey Chili
Recipe Adapted from Bodybuilding.com
Serves 4-6

*Man that stuff never photographs well. I apologize haha.

Ingredients:
1 lb of 99% fat free Ground Turkey Breast
14.5 oz can of Diced No Salt Added Tomatoes
1 can of Black Beans, No Salt Added (Drained)
1 can of Chili or Tri Blend Beans, No Salt Added (Drained)
1 medium onion
1/2 tbsp Garlic Powder
1 4 oz can Diced Green Chilis
1.5 tsp of Brown Sugar
1/2 tbsp Chili Powder
1 tbsp White Vinegar
4.5 tsp Dijon Mustard
1/3 tbsp Cumin

Directions:
Cook the turkey, onions, and garlic powder in a big pot on medium heat until the turkey is cooked all the way through and the onions are translucent. Once the turkey is cooked all the way through add the remaining ingredients and cook until it starts to boil or desired consistency, roughly 10 minutes.

It’s really delicious! It’s not very spicy with the way I wrote it, actually it’s not at all so if you want heat I suggest adding some cayenne pepper to the mix or maybe some tabasco sauce.

I hope everyone had an awesome Monday! I will be having leftover chili tonight as I drown my sorrows of losing the Super Bowl. Yes, I am still bitter. No, I won’t get over it for a while. Haha.

Question of the day: Did everyone like Francine? She was scared to take the picture. 😉

Leave a Reply

