Protein Pancake and Abs Circuit

Happy Hump day everyone!

So this morning I woke up starving due to my late night. I have this problem where I think too much and night and just want to get everything accomplished in the wee hours of the morning since I am so unproductive during the day. Haha, my procrastination is so strange. Anyways, I wrote a grocery list for next week last night, which is fun. I planned my entire dinner meals for the week. You guys will be seeing some broccoli and cheddar soup and some salmon. All I have wanted lately is salmon for some reason.

Anyways, moving on to this morning. I woke up wanting a protein pancake. However, most of the time I find them too dry and boring. Plus, most of the time I hate cooked fruit so I never really like blueberries or strawberries actually in the pancake. I find it to be too mushy and I am a big texture person. So I decided while I was at the store yesterday to try out some carob chips. I have never tried them before, but I did read somewhere that they were healthier than chocolate chips but they still have a chocolately flavor. I tried the chips on their own just to see what they would taste like and let me tell you something people, they are very interesting. Haha, that doesn’t sound like a good thing, but they aren’t bad. I just don’t know how to describe them. However, in the pancake they tasted almost exactly like chocolate chips so I was okay with it. I ramble a lot, sorry. Moving on to the actual pancake. It was delicious! And a beast. I had to flip it with a knife and a spatula at the same time and it was so big I was late for class trying to finish eating it haha. Oh the things I put a priority to. Oh and I have a picture of it! I don’t know what’s going on with my computer back home but I am in my school’s library so it should be able to upload some things. I based the actual foundation of this pancake off of the Tone It Up new Protein Pancake recipe. The old one was so ridiculously dry I needed a gallon of water to get it down. I’m not sure why so many people are obsessed with it haha, but this one is pretty awesome with peanut butter, sliced banana, and chia seeds on top. I know shocking topping for my food. 😉

Peanut Butter Carob Chip Protein Pancake
Serves 1

Ingredients:
3 tbsp protein powder (I used vanilla sun warrior, but chocolate would be amazing and so would chocolate peanut butter, just be careful with nutritional stats!)
1/2 Banana
3 Egg Whites or Egg White Substitute (For liquid egg whites, 9 tbsp)
1 tbsp Powdered Peanut Butter (I used PB2)
1/2 tbsp Almond Milk (Unsweetened Vanilla is the best)
1 tbsp Carob Chips or Chocolate Chips depending on preference

Directions:
Mash the banana in a bowl. Then add the rest of the ingredients except for the carob chips and mix together. Pour the batter into a heated up skillet on medium low sprayed with cooking spray. Then add the carob chips on top while the pancake is cooking. Flip, or try to flip, over! Once cooked on both sides, remove, add favorite desired toppings and enjoy!

It was an incredibly filling breakfast due to the protein powder and peanut butter. I think the egg whites also helped! Seriously, I most definitely recommend it. If you can’t find powdered peanut butter use the real stuff! I just like the powdered in this cause it’s easier to mix in and it has less calories. Since I add the real stuff on top I cut down the calories and fat where I can. Also, you most definitely don’t have to use carob chips. When I run out I will be switching over to chocolate chips, I think. I am just a big fan of the real stuff. 🙂 Also, drop out the peanut butter and chips add some cinnamon and you can add whatever you want to this recipe! Experiment with different flavors of protein powders, use different fruits, the world is your oyster with these. 🙂

Moving on to my new ab circuit. As I said, I thought last week was a little too easy and I wanted something a bit more challenging this week. I will be doing this later on today and will post either tonight or tomorrow how I liked it! As always, I am not a fitness professional… yet. So make sure to check with a professional before starting a new exercise routine and if it hurts don’t do it!

Shoulder and Abs Workout, modified:
Front Raises 3×15
Lateral Raises 3×15
Overhead Press 3×15
Upright Rows 3×15
Tummy Tucks 3×20 each leg
Plank, as long as you can hold
Slide Planks, each side hold as long as you can
Crunches on a machine, 3×25
Russian Twists with 10 pound weight, 3×15
V Sits 3×20 each leg
Leg Up Crunches 3×20
Side Plank “Hugs” 3×15 each side
Plank, as long as you can hold again

I stole some of these moves from the Tone It Up Valentine’s Day workout because I think some of them are really challenging. Also, I am combining this with EPIC Cardio. This is a plan I found on the Everyday Glow blog written by Jennifer. She’s amazing pretty much and always answers any health questions I have on Twitter. This is a patent pending program and I can see why! It seems really intense. I will obviously post my reaction along with the weight training. 🙂 But here is what it is. This is completely her program, 100% of the credit goes to her, I am just reposting it on here to be more convenient for you guys. But here’s the link to that post as well explaining it more.

http://everydayglow.com/epic-cardio-method/

EPIC Cardio Method:
This is the exact version that I will be doing today. The straight running version, no plyos.
Minute 1: Run at a challenging pace
Minute 2: Jog
Minute 3: Run at a challenging pace
Minute 4: Jog or briskly walk
Minutes 5-8: Sprints Tabata style, 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds recover, repeat 8 times.
Minute 8: Run at a challenging pace
Minute 9: Walk
Repeat once more for 2 cycles of this method.

I am really excited and mildly intimidated by this cardio program, but as usual I will try anything once!

I hope everyone is enjoying their Wednesday. Do something good for your booty today even if it’s just a 60 second wall sit. 😉

Leave a Reply

