Losing the Obsession

Okay, so I posted about this a while ago, but I thought it was important enough to bring back up due to a conversation I had with Courtney on Twitter. I posted a little while ago about how I didn’t want to look at the scale anymore because I was getting so frustrated with obsessing about the number. For so long I cared so much about what that darn scale said. I let it affect me in everything. If the scale went up I ate my feelings… Completely unhealthy cycle. I realized that this was a terrible habit. It takes a lot to get over something that you have been so focused on for so long. I know anyone who has lost weight understands this because the scale is your friend and your enemy. It’s awesome when you see that number go down and it sucks and is completely disheartening when it goes up.

So here’s the point of my post. I stopped worrying so much about it. I figured as long as I focus on eating clean and healthy the numbers would come. I ditched the 1,400 calorie diet I was on and opted for somewhere between 1,600-1,800 calories for now. I work out about 6 days a week, 4 days being strength and 2 days being cardio based. This was all a test. I wanted to see if this whole non-obsessing and finally eating enough and what I wanted would actually still enable me to lose weight, even if it was slower than what I was used to losing. In the past week I lost almost a pound. Normally I would be so mad! I would be like why didn’t I hit that full pound, but I was so happy this week. I was never hungry, I ate everything I wanted to eat, and I still went out this past weekend and had a little fun without going overboard and feeling guilty. This is what helped me this week open up to you guys and let you know the struggle I have been in since this past summer when I lost 15 pounds. I have been yo-yoing for a while and finally I think I hit my stride. 1,400 calorie diets aren’t long term. Once I stopped thinking about diets and starting thinking about eating and living healthy I became so much happier with myself and I still lost weight. I know this post may seem so random to some, but I hope it is helpful for some people who struggle with the same problems I did.

Also, this is something I wasn’t sure I was actually going to be comfortable doing since I am not at my “goal body” yet, but here is a before and after picture of my current weight loss up until this point.

Before

After, I'm on the left!

So I have a couple quick staples which are helping me stay full but still under that 1,800 target. Also, if you are wondering why I decided between 1,600-1,800 calories I will post the equation at the bottom of this post so you yourself can figure out your own basal metabolic rate and the amount of calories you can consume to lose weight or maintain. It’s still a rough estimate so keep that in mind and play around a bit till you find out what works for your body. Also, keep in mind I am not a nutritionist or a professional, I am just sharing what works for me. πŸ™‚

Food:
This week at the grocery store I bought:

Fruits and Produce:

  • Kale
  • Baby Spinach
  • Bananas
  • Baby Carrots
  • Tomatoes
  • Red and Green Bell Peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Apples
  • Cara Cara Oranges
  • Cucumbers
  • Sweet Potato

*Yes I know that’s a lot. Most of my days I load myself up on vegetables because I like to eat a lot. By loading up on vegetables you get a jam packed nutrient meal and tons of volume filling you up without all of those calories. Big deal when losing weight or even maintaining. :)*

Meat:

  • Chicken Breast
  • Sweet Italian Thin & Trim Chicken Sausage
  • One piece of 6 oz center cut Salmon
  • Ground Turkey

Dairy and Non-Dairy:
I’m not a big dairy person but I do eat vanilla chobani all the time so I got a 32 oz container of that. I am a huge fan of Greek yogurt because of the insane amount of protein and probiotics. Happy tummy, happy Meghan. πŸ™‚
Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (Unsweetened is key, you do not need the blood sugar spike from the crazy amounts of sugar in the regular kind. It makes you feel all sorts of hungry and ravenous haha.)

Other Food Staples always in my Kitchen:

  • Rolled or Steel Cut Oats (Steel cut oats just take way longer to cook so normally my oatmeal is rolled oats!)
  • Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • Organic All Natural Peanut and Almond Butter (I love Maranatha)
  • Whole Wheat Tortillas
  • Light Extra Fiber Bread
  • Deli Flats/Sandwich Thins/Bagel Flats
  • Truvia
  • Different kinds of light cheeses
  • Raw Almonds or Pistachios
  • Granola or Homemade Granola
  • Quinoa
  • Sugar Free Maple Syrup (Yes you can hate on me for not using the real stuff, I just like how liquidy this is haha)
  • Annie’s Salad Dressings
  • Edamame
  • Frozen Fruits

Gosh that’s quite the list. I hope this helps out some of you look to eat a little healthier or lose weight. If you have any questions about what I do don’t hesitate to ask in the comments. I answer every single person back. πŸ™‚

Here’s the BMR Calculation I promised. πŸ™‚

Women’s BMR formula:
655+(4.3 x weight in lbs) + (4.7 x height in inches) – (4.7 x age in years)

Men’s BMR formula:
66+(6.23 x weight in lbs) + (12.7 x height in inches) – (6.8 x age in years)

To find your Active Metabolic Rate, which is the amt. of calories you need to carry out your daily activities, calc the following:

Sedentary: BMRx1.2
Lightly Active: BMRx1.375
Moderately Active: BMRx1.55
Very Active: BMRx1.725
Extra Active: BMRx1.9

The best way to use this formula is to take the number and subtract about 500 calories a day to lose weight since 3500 calories = 1 pound. 250 from exercise and 250 from food is a good place to start. πŸ™‚

I hope you all enjoyed this obnoxiously long post and a big thanks to everyone who’s reading my blog lately. Seriously, it means the world to me that my readership is picking up. I hope you guys are enjoying it and I hope I can continue to entertain. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

