Caprese Quinoa Salad

Hi everyone!

So I didn’t get home till super late last night after hanging out with my roommate for a little bit since she was gone all weekend and we are super chatty and enjoy driving around. But I did promise some people some recipes on Twitter, so here they are.

Yesterday morning I started off craving peanut butter, which is nothing new when it comes to my food. So I decided to make a big bowl of voluminous Peanut Butter x2 Oatmeal. 🙂 I followed a Clean Eating Chelsea recipe to make the oatmeal super voluminous and I changed it around by adding in my own little treats. I made it by combining 1/3 c rolled oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 cup water, and 1 tsp of vanilla the night before. You cook that until it boils, take it off the heat and cover it over night. In the morning you add 1/3 cup of almond milk and half a thinly sliced banana and cook until desired consistency and the banana is incorporated. I took it off the heat and added 1 tbsp of PB2, 1 tbsp of Creamy Peanut Butter and stirred. Then took put that in a bowl and topped with 1 tbsp of Homemade Honey Cinnamon Peanut Butter and the rest of the banana with more chia seeds. Omg it was so good and so peanut buttery! I highly recommend it if you love peanut butter. I was in peanut butter heaven.

For a delicious snack I was craving a smoothie… And chocolate covered strawberries. So I followed a Peanut Butter Fingers recipe and made a Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie that was so thick I had to eat it with a spoon. Just how I like ’em! I used Vanilla Sun Warrior because I don’t own chocolate protein powder and just added 1 tbsp of cocoa powder versus 1/2 tbsp to really get that chocolately flavor.

For lunch I had an epic salad beast, which was changed up from the usual one you see on here. It had kale, spinach, cucumbers, red bell peppers, turkey, and Annie’s Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette. It was delicious and seriously hit the spot!

Let’s talk about the title of this post. My dinner! I followed a recipe I found on the TheDiva-Dish.com blog and it was fantastic. Only I am a massive carnivore so I added some chicken sausage. Sorry, I really can’t eat vegetarian. I try really hard! But I give crazy props to all of you who can be vegetarian and vegan. I believe her recipe is completely vegan? But don’t quote me on that, it is definitely vegetarian though if you don’t add meat like I did!

Tomato Basil Quinoa Salad (Aka Caprese Quinoa Salad)
Serves 1

Ingredients:
1/4 cup of Quinoa
1 Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage
10 Cherry Tomatoes chopped
1/4 cup of Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas)
1/2 cup Spinach
A few fresh basil leaves
1 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
1/2 tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 tsp + Minced Garlic
A little sea salt to taste

Directions:
Cook the quinoa according to instructions and set aside. In a food processor (I used a magic bullet) combine the spinach and basil till chopped up and fine then set aside. In a small bowl combine balsamic, oil, and garlic and whisk together. Cook the sausage in a skillet till warmed through. Combine everything together on a plate and enjoy!

It’s super simple and super delicious. I topped mine with nutritional yeast to make everything super creamy and cheesy, while adding some extra vitamins and antioxidants. I can’t get enough of that stuff, seriously. The whole thing tasted like a caprese salad. It was so good and really filled me up so I highly recommend it. My roommate and I are going to be trying a bunch of new recipes this week from different things I have found on blogs and on fitness websites recently so keep an eye for that! We bought the Eat Clean Cookbook 2, by Tosca Reno so expect to see family dinners every Sunday from us as well! I also cannot wait to share with you all the new insane workout I created for us to get us in shape for bikini season. It is not for the faint of heart and is really intense. It has tons of weight training, combined with active rests and plyos, plus HIITs! I am so excited and proud of it, so I can’t wait to share it with you! Let me know if you try any of these recipes and if you like them!

As always, keep an eye out this week. I convinced my roommate to do a guest post about her healthy chocolate covered strawberries! They are super delicious and low in calories and sugar so they don’t break the diet bank. The only sugar actually comes from the fructose found in the strawberries! I can’t wait for her to come on here and share it with you guys!Have an amazing day, everyone!

 

2 thoughts on “Caprese Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

