Wheat Germ Oatmeal ;)

3 blog posts in one day?! I am on a roll. I hope this makes up for my lack of posting on the crazy weekends I have been traveling a bunch. I think I mentioned this in a previous blog post, but I have begun the Eat Clean Diet by Tosca Reno. I will be starting the Eat Clean Diet Stripped after spring break when all of the whacky things we can’t find in our grocery store come in. So today I tried to follow the plan as closely as I could without actually having read the book yet. One thing I did manage to read about was the breakfast portion of the plan. She has a page in her book that shows a typical day of what she eats on the Eat Clean plan. She normally has 1/2 cup of oatmeal with 2 tbsp of wheat germ, 2 tbsp of ground flax, 2 tbsp of bee pollen, some berries AND 3 egg whites + 1 egg. Phew that’s a lot of food right? A lot of delicious food I might add. My version due to the fact that I don’t own some of those things consisted of 1/3 cup of Coach’s Oats (because they get bigger than rolled oats and end up being the same serving pretty much) with 2 tbsp of wheat germ, a serving on homemade honey cinnamon peanut butter, sliced banana, and chia seeds. I also had 3 egg whites + 1 egg with salsa on top. Holy yum! I love eggs and salsa, I could literally eat it every day. Especially when you buy the fresh salsa or you make some yourself. There is nothing better, I tell you!

That looks like a ton of food, I know. That’s one of the things she talks about in her book. So many people losing weight, like myself, have counted calories for way too long instead of just going back to giving your body only what it needs. Natural, clean foods. Your body can lose weight on a 2,000 calorie clean diet and gain weight on a 1,600 unclean diet. Just a little food for thought that I learned and thought was an important thing to share. Your body metabolizes those calories differently and either stores what it has no use for (unclean foods) and burns what it needs for energy (clean foods).

Speaking of wheat germ earlier in this post, a lot of people know absolutely nothing about it and probably wonder why I happen to have it sitting in my pantry. Well I used it in cookies once and since then it has been sitting there. However, I can’t believe I haven’t used it till now! It’s a nutrient powerhouse. Here are some get to know wheat germ fun facts for everyone in case they want to try it. 🙂 It tasted delicious in my oatmeal this morning… Even though you will probably think that it looks like sawdust.

Wheat germ is one of the portions that is removed when wheat is processed into fine flour. It is an amazing source of folic acid, so for all you Mama-to-Be’s out there it’s super important along with anyone trying to get pregnant. Folic acid reduces a compound in your body called homocysteine. Lower levels of of this have been linked to reducing the risk of heart disease, osteoporosis bone fractures, and dementia (Discovery Health). Wheat germ also contains a phytonutrient called L-ergothioneine, which is a powerful antioxidant that is not destroyed by cooking (Discovery Health). Also, wheat germ has a ton of fiber! So it keeps your belly nice and full along with that oatmeal, which is another amazing for you food. Another reason I pretty much eat it every single day.

For dinner I had an awesome little creation I found in Oxygen magazine. However, my recipe looks almost completely different since I didn’t have basically any of the ingredients the recipe needed. However, with a little switcheroos the recipe idea is still the same.

Vegetable Quinoa “Fried Rice”
Serves 1

Ingredients:
1/4 cup of Quinoa (rinsed, drained, and dried)
1/2 cup of Water
1/4 cup Shelled Edamame
1/2 Red Bell Pepper
1 clove Minced Garlic
2 egg whites (Beaten)
1 egg (Beaten)
Leftover Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower
1 tbsp Soy Sauce
A huge dump of Nutritional Yeast

Directions:
Cook the Quinoa with the water according to package instructions, set aside. While the quinoa is cooking saute pepper, edamame, garlic, eggs, soy sauce, and roasted veggies until cooked and heated through. Combine with quinoa. Dump nutritional yeast on top and enjoy!

I know, I know, my recipes are super hard to follow haha. I am a college student. Anything that takes too long after having classes all day long is just not going to happen. Also, as usual most of my recipes are just for one person but you can double or even triple if you are feeding an entire family.

Keep an eye out for my workout post of what I did today, tomorrow. I posted way too many things today and I need something for tomorrow while I am driving. Don’t hate me if you wanted to do this tonight? I mean I guess it’s 8 pm, so you probably are already done your workouts… Rambling! Sorry! Have a good night everyone!

Leave a Reply

