Half Marathon Training Part 2

So I decided I am going to talk about this opportunity as soon as possible on my blog to hold myself accountable for actually training for this race. Over the winter, I stopped in January, I was training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco. I ended up going on vacation and never getting back to it especially after the people I wanted to do it with didn’t seem to think San Francisco was really doable money wise. I completely agreed and decided to just focus on weight training. This is exactly what I have been doing for the past few months. I am no longer able to run 5 miles straight, but I can now do one rep on a leg press at 500 pounds haha. However, on Twitter today I saw that Nike posted something. THE NIKE WOMENS HALF MARATHON IS COMING TO DC IN SPRING 2013. Hello! DC is such a doable place for me since by then my roommate and I are hoping to live near the VA, NC, SC area. That’s completely doable and affordable. You know what this means?! I am back to training for a half marathon. However, I am breaking it up this time and training for a 5k first so I don’t become overwhelmed. Then I will move on to 10k training once that becomes possible and then I will be in good shape to continue to train for the half marathon when it arrives in a year. Now obviously there is no guarantee that I will even be picked in the raffle for this race, but I am willing to train and try. If all else fails, I’ll do the Disney half! Always fun as well. 🙂

Be prepared for vlogs, updates, and overwhelming gripes from my lack of running skill. I cannot wait to share this journey with you. I will still be signing up for CrossFit still and still weight training, but I am going to start making the training and focused part of my workout schedule. 🙂

Shocking from this lifting junkie, right?

Leave a comment