Week 1, Day 1

Hello again! I wanted to update you guys on what I did at the gym today along with a some yummy pictures of food haha. I figured this would be a good time to blog while 8,000 pages of neuroscience articles print out for my three papers due in the next couple weeks. πŸ˜‰

So today at the gym I did the Push workout that I have been doing for the past three weeks. I can’t believe it’s already been three weeks on this plan. It’s still making me work hard and still leaving me sore. My body is definitely being pushed to the limit with this one, guys! I am doing the legs part of that post tomorrow. But onto the half marathon training that I am starting. Like I said I decided to break it up into smaller parts since I am basically a beginner at this. Most of the cardio I tend to gravitate towards is HIIT based and not steady state cardio, so this is going to be a challenge from the start. I decided I needed something gradual to start off with that wouldn’t make me feel overwhelmed or defeated and definitely something that kept me interested.

See I get bored easily. πŸ˜‰

So I downloaded the Couch to 5k app I have heard so many people talk about. Most of the people I have heard talk about it say really good things and are now running half marathons themselves so I figured it was the perfect spring board. πŸ™‚ It had me do a 5 minute warm up, then intervals of jogging for 45 seconds, walking for 90 seconds, jogging for 45 seconds, walking for 60 seconds and repeating that for 20 minutes. Then I did a 5 minute cool down. It felt good to sweat a little bit. Towards the end it was a little harder, but I wasn’t super challenged. Normally that would piss me off, but with running I am such a wimp. I need things to be super easy to start so that I learn to enjoy it, then when the hard part sets in I am more apt to stick with it. The complete opposite of how I train with weights. I go balls to the walls 24/7 with those weights haha. I ended up covering around 2.25 miles in 30 minutes. Not too shabby for the first attempt. I am doing day 2 tomorrow so you will get even more updates from me.

Let’s move on to the fun part. FOOD. πŸ™‚

Lunch

So I wanted to make a sandwich today, which I did. But I couldn’t tell whether the white stuff on the bread was mold or flour? I ate it anyways after toasting it haha, so I hope it was just flour. They were the last two pieces of bread in the bag, so things aren’t looking too good on that front. This is what happens when you buy fresh bread, eat it fast or it’s going to go all mold city on you. So now that I have completely grossed you out by my lack of care in the mold department let me tell you what was actually on this sandwich, btw the bread tasted fine! πŸ˜‰ 2 slices of fresh low carb whole wheat bread, 2 slices of low sodium deli turkey, handful of spinach, slice of Sargento natural cheese blend in mozzarella and cheddar, and some dijon mustard. I had a ton of grape tomatoes on the side as well. πŸ™‚

Dinner

SALAD BEAST! This one was huge. I came home from the gym about ready to eat my own hand. So I ate like half a container of strawberries and half a container of tomatoes while I waited for my bison to cook on the grill. I put that on top of a giant bed of spinach, tomatoes, red bell peppers, cucumbers, and edamame. Then I topped the whole thing with some evoo, balsamic vinegar, and garlic. Delicious and I was super full… For all of about an hour since now I am wicked hungry again. This means I must go stuff my face full of more pumpkin protein bars. I gotta eat them before they go bad, right? This wouldn’t be a problem if my roommate was home since we pound through these bars, but alone 24 is a daunting task. I am up for it though. πŸ˜‰

I hope everyone has a great night! Relax for me, since I will be reading neuroscience papers till I die!!! Is it May 19th yet?! (My graduation date)

Leave a Reply

