Getting Amped

Let’s talk about supplementation, shall we?

I am a big fan in getting everything you need from the clean food that you eat. However, with training for a half marathon and lifting 4 or 5 days a week I am aware that my diet isn’t always perfect. I like to make sure I am getting enough protein for my muscles to grow and get stronger. I also like to make sure they are recovering at the best rate that they can. Branch chain amino acids, electrolytes, and protein powders have become my best friends while training. I like to cook with protein powders as well, so I am a huge fan of making sure that everything I intake is as clean as possible and good for my body. Just a heads up I bought all of these products with my own money and researched them on my own. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated or contacted by any of the companies to do this post. I just thought some of you would like to know what I use. 🙂

Fitmixer Aminos

I am obsessed with these. Let me tell you people, these taste amazing! It’s basically hawaiin punch… Only good for you! It’s loaded with amino acids, which is awesome before and after working out. This is when I usually take them. I drink it before I workout so that the aminos are already in my system ready to be used when they are needed. I will definitely be repurchasing this stuff. I have noticed a complete difference in recovery times and overall how my body feels on it while working out. There’s only 25 calories per scoop, which I think is awesome, since you never want anything too high in your supplements especially if you are trying to lose weight.

This is just a fun shot of my roommate and I after our workout. Can you tell we are super excited to start chugging that? 😉

Fitmixer Protein

This stuff tastes like a cake batter milkshake. I combine mine with unsweetened vanilla almond milk, since I like the creamier taste it gets from it and it is out of this world good. It also has some sick stats.

32 g protein, 14 g carbs, 5 g fiber, 190 calories and 1.6 g Tri-Flow per 2 scoops

This is some serious good stuff. I only use one scoop after my workout since I think 32g is a bit much, but one scoop does an awesome job of helping me recovering and curing my incessant need for ice cream tasting things. 🙂

Sunwarrior Protein

I feel like this doesn’t even need an explanation. I have been using Sunwarrior for almost a year now and nothing compares to it. It has amazing stats and tastes. It’s the perfect protein to cook with. It’s raw, all natural, sprouted brown rice protein, gluten free, and only 70 calories sweetened with stevia and vanilla extract. It’s as clean as clean gets. 🙂

Vega Products

I’m not a vegan by any means, as you all know, but I do love vegan performance products. Vega has an awesome line of stuff out. One of my favorites being the electrolyte hydrator for helping me stay hydrated and fueled during my workouts. Especially when I am sweating like a beast. This happens every time I workout. This is 0 calories and tastes amazing! It also is loaded with the electrolytes your body needs to keep going during a hard training session.

I ran my fastest mile a couple weeks ago after taking a whole food optimizer shake. I got sent this for free as a promotion on the vega website to try. This stuff tastes really weird the first time you try it, but then it becomes oddly addicting. I got a ton of energy from it and it’s loaded with greens, vitamins, antioxidants, protein, and good for you minerals. I got the chocolate flavor.

A lot of people told me to try the Vega Vanilla Chai shake. It has a ton of greens, probiotics, protein, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants as well, which is nice. However, when I combine it with liquid it doesn’t always have a strong taste and can taste sort of watery and funky. But I do like it still. Not sure if I will repurchase, but I am currently using it and enjoying it.

Those are all my new supplements. I hope you check them out and let me know if you try them or have them and what you think in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

