Birthday Week

I am in Pennsylvania, everyone! I have finally made it off the island I have been trapped on all summer! Even if it’s just for a weekend to celebrate my birthday; I am so excited. I am planning a vlog recapping my 21st year and everything that happened so stay tuned for that this weekend if you are curious.

But let’s talk about food. What else is new? I have literally had two of the best meals of my life this week. One I took pictures of… The other I forgot because I was too busy inhaling the best burger of my life that I didn’t stop and think about the fact that I wanted to show you. It was amazing. Picture a giant burger topped with goat cheese, prosciutto, balsamic reduction, and these pickled hot peppers that were to die for. Then picture that with the best arugula salad you can think of and think about eating that all at once… All while having a margarita in a bowl because it’s so delicious and big. Yes please. Sign me up again! Head to Atria on Martha’s Vineyard if you are ever there. I promise you, you are in for the best treat ever.

I didn’t take this picture, but here is an idea of the awesomeness of which you can experience. That doesn’t even do it justice. My burger was like twice the size of that haha.

The burger menu is only served downstairs. So go there! πŸ˜‰

Anyways, back to what I did remember to take a picture of this week. We went to the Atlantic on my birthday on a whim because we have heard so many amazing things about it, but it’s super pricey so we never ended up going this summer. They have an amazing view where you can sit outside and look at the Edgartown harbor. You can see Chappy off in the distance, it’s really pretty. The weather was also beautiful on the day we went so we sat outside. Since I turned 22 we figured we might as well go all out and just splurge. We ended up having quite the price tag come along with this meal, but it was worth every single penny.

We started off with a blueberry lemonade made with Stoli Blueberry, lemonade, and soda water. It was pretty good! There were fresh blueberries floating in it too, which I managed to eat with the straw. Vodka soaked blueberries are a new favorite of mine. Healthy?! Of course… Not. πŸ˜‰

After we had a couple minutes to slam this drink like frat boys enjoy this tasty drink like classy ladies our appetizer came out. We decided on the lobster and charred tomato salsa with homemade chips. Guys, there was so much lobster in that salsa it was insane! You definitely get your moneys worth. The chips were also insane in the membrane. I’m not sure what they seasoned them with other than crack but they were delicious!

Why yes, that is a giant claw sitting in the middle of it as a garnish. You bet your booties that went into my mouth ASAP. I forgot to take a picture of the next dish we had, which is really sad because it was hands down the best I had that day, but I will do my best to explain it. πŸ˜‰ It was a lobster salad with dried cranberries, walnuts, arugula, and a strawberry vinaigrette. It was insane the amount of lobster on that salad. It wasn’t even an entree salad! It was just supposed to be a starter. But the plate was massive. Of course, like the sumo wrestler I am, I ate the entire thing… But that’s besides the point. πŸ˜‰ YOLO? I actually hate that saying and only use it when I am being sarcastic, but I thought it was fitting. Anyways, for my actual meal… Yeah we still haven’t gotten there yet haha… I got a seared tuna steak burger. Since the last time I tried to make seared tuna steak I burned my leg so bad I still have the scar I try to get it out whenever I can since I am too scared to make it again haha. This one was alright, it wasn’t the best seared tuna I have ever had, but it was still really good. I ended up taking it out of the bun to eat it since I don’t really like buns. I think it gets in the way of the meat. Yup, I’m that kid. I also don’t really like french fries so sadly those just sat there. They were really good for french fries though! Nothing like the Boathouse truffle fries on the island, however. Those are life changing.

I remembered to take the picture after I demolished the first half. I tell you people I am not lying to you when I say I can eat. As if I stopped here haha. I totally had dessert… And ate the entire thing. Yes, this healthy living blog is full of not so healthy food sometimes. I hope you all enjoy the fact that I am human and cannot just survive on salad beasts and fruit 365 days of the year.

If you are happy to see this post feast your eyes on a french riviera cake layered with vanilla custard, dusted with sugar, and fresh berries. It was amazingly light and fluffy. I really loved it! Happy birthday to me!

As you can tell all of these pictures are from Instagram. Seriously follow me if you want to see what I eat on the daily. πŸ˜‰ Or if you are curious on the occasional random progress pictures, workouts, or Martha’s Vineyard sunsets. I also have some fashion posts as well. mroy90!

For my birthday my boss, who is one of my favorite people ever, bought me a bottle of champagne and told my roommate and I to enjoy. We aren’t really drinkers of anything other than vodka and tequila, so we weren’t really sure what to expect. Well it was really good quality champagne, but I am apparently not very classy and wasn’t really a fan. But my roommate and I didn’t want to waste it so we spent the rest of the evening downing an entire bottle of champagne and passing out after. Yes people, that’s how one celebrates turning 22 with their best friend haha. Jealous? πŸ˜‰ Here’s a recap of what went down.

Yeah we are gems. This is the reason we are both single. πŸ˜‰

The sweetest way to end my day! Another three to add to my Alex & Ani arm candy collection.

The longhorns I bought to represent something super exciting that is happening in my life. My roommate and I are moving to Austin, Texas! I am so freaking excited I can barely form words to describe it. We are heading there in a month to check it out, find a place to live, and land some jobs. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

