Lots of Recipe Requests

Happy Thursday everyone! I am leaving for Austin, Texas on Tuesday and I am so excited! I can’t even stand it. My roommate and I will be heading down to look at apartments, try to find jobs, and rent a storage unit for all of our stuff. I have applied to so many jobs right now online that I cannot wait to hear back from. I started off applying to a ton of jobs at Lifetime Fitness for Member Services in hopes that when I get certified in a couple months I can move to their personal training department. 🙂

I will be updating this baby while I am there to let you all see what’s going on with us while we are there. If any of you have any recommendations let us know in the comments! I am all over fun finds. We are going in absolutely blind and I can’t even begin to tell you how thankful I am that I met Laura. Between her and her friends they have helped my roommate and I so much! But I will leave a different post for Texas.

On to what this post is really about. A lot of people have been asking me on instagram and twitter for recipes to the new delicious foods I have been making and posting. I am currently carb cycling in preparation for a bodybuilding competition in July! Yay! It’s completely terrifying to think that I am going to be judged while wearing a bikini, but it’s a goal that I wanted to set for myself to really push me and elevate my performance in the gym. This entire challenge and goal is all about fueling my body properly and really making sure that it gets what it needs after a summer of poor eating choices… oh yeah and the whole going out every weekend. But I’m back on it now! I have a goal in sight and I can’t wait to share my progress with you guys! I will explain carb cycling in a different post so that this one isn’t clogged with information that not everyone cares about.

Onto the food! A lot of the food I have been making has been low carb due to the macro nutrient requirement that I have for cycling currently. So if that sounds right up your alley awesome! I promise all this food has been insanely delicious and curbs my sweet tooth with the snap of a finger. We all know that I have two major obsessions. Chocolate and nut butter. Combine those two and I never feel the need to binge eat or go crazy with ice cream. 😉

This is where homemade chocolate protein bars, apple cinnamon protein bars, low carb chocolate protein pancakes, peanut butter protein frosting, and Justin’s Nut Butter comes into the scene.

Ask and you shall receive people! Any time you ever want a recipe that isn’t posted on here, just ask! I love sharing. I haven’t been able to update this blog very much lately, but that is all going to change when I move. I really want to put more time into this passion of mine and share with all of you my journey.

I changed up my protein bar recipes a bit to cut out grains, since they tend to upset my stomach and bloat me every time I eat them. Also, I’ve done a lot of research lately about the benefits of cutting out wheat in a strength training regimen, so that’s what I have decided to do personally. Feel free to sub the almond and coconut flour for all oat flour. I’ve tried it before and it works beautifully!

Chocolate Protein Bars
Serves 6 (2 bars per serving) or 12 if you want 1


Ingredients
1/2 cup Almond Meal/Flour
1/2 cup Coconut Flour
4 egg whites
3 tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
6 packets of Truvia (or sweetener of choice, can change the macros of this recipe)
1 cup Unsweetened Applesauce
1/2 cup Water
Splash of unsweetened almond milk (to make the consistency more like brownie batter due to the high fiber of coconut flour it absorbs a lot of liquid)
2 scoops Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Soda

Combine all ingredients into a bowl and mix until smooth and all incorporated. Add the almond milk only till you get the right consistency of not too thick or too liquidy. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes depending on the oven!

Don’t those look amazing?! I put chocolate pb2 combined with almond milk till frosting consistency on top of them fresh out of the oven. I died a little of chocolate nirvana. I do want to caution everyone, though this shouldn’t be a problem, they don’t keep well for very long, so eat them quickly!

Nutrient Breakdown (per serving of 2 bars)
Calories: 155.5
Total Carbs: 15.5g
Fiber: 6.2g
Sugars: 4.9g
Protein: 12.2g

The net carbs for these only end up being around 9, which is awesome for those on low carb days for carb cycling.

Apple Cinnamon Protein Bars
Serves 6 (2 bars per serving)

Ingredients
4 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
1/2 cup almond meal/flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
3 egg whites
6 packets of Truvia (or any other sweetener, can change macros)
1/2 cup 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 medium apple grated through large holes

Combine all ingredients except apple into a bowl, then fold in the apple shreds. Bake at 350 degrees in an 8×8 Pyrex pan for 20-30 minutes.

These are a little taste of fall! 🙂 They are super moist and lower in carbs than the chocolate protein bars.

Nutrient Breakdown (per 2 bar serving)
Calories: 116
Total Carbs: 8.4g
Fiber: 2.4g
Sugars: 4.2g
Protein: 12.9g

Low Carb Chocolate Protein Pancake
Serves 1

Ingredients
1/4 cup liquid egg whites
1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
1 tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
Cinnamon
Vanilla Extract
2 drops of Liquid Stevia (optional) I’ve tried both Toffee and Vanilla… Epic!

Combine all ingredients and cook like pancakes. Yes, they will look really liquidy. Yes, they will still turn out all right. Yes, they cook really fast so you may burn them the first time! But I warned you, so maybe you won’t. 😉

Nutrient Breakdown (per serving, just the pancake)
Calories: 120
Total Carbs: 6g
Fiber: 1g
Protein: 26g

These were made into tiny pancakes and layered with my next recipe. Peanut butter protein frosting. It tasted like a Reese’s Cake. Granted not like a full fat Reese’s Cake, but for someone who’s on a no added sugar diet and can’t have a lot of carbs it tasted almost as good!

Peanut Butter Protein Frosting
Serves 1

Ingredients
2 tbsp PB2
1 tbsp Vanilla Protein Powder
Unsweetened Almond Milk till desired consistency is achieved

Easy as pie.

I hope those were all the ones you guys have been asking for! If I missed one let me know and I can put it up this week. Keep an eye out I am trying to post every single day this week like I used to do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

