Photos of Carb Cycling

I wanted to do a complete picture post showing you guys what I have been eating while cycling my carbs for the past week. I will be carb cycling for 3 weeks then moving on to nutrient timing for 1 month then back to carb cycling for another 3 weeks.

Normally I add beans to my chili recipe, but because I am doing mostly low carb days I decided to leave it out to fit in with my macros. It tastes just as amazing and I replaced lost calories from beans with healthy fats and calories from avocados. 🙂

This is on high carb days. I use 2 oz of brown rice pasta with a homemade meat sauce. I used 1 lb of 99% fat free ground turkey, 1 jar of Rao’s Arrabiata sauce (THE BEST SAUCE EVER), and an onion with tons of spices. Also, the best brown rice pasta I have ever had is by the company jovial. Best texture out there and tastes like the real thing.

I have been eating so much kabocha, acorn, and buttercup squash. I am obsessed… Especially when it’s cold. It’s like dessert to me… Don’t ask me why!

I love sweet potatoes on higher carb days with peanut butter. Also, I have had a love affair with salmon this past week. I love fish. Especially fresh caught fish. There’s a fishing derby going on around the island right now and the fish is to die for here.

Seared tuna steak… My protein crack. 🙂

I’ve been using Fitmixer Vanilla Protein after my gym sessions with 8 oz of unsweetened vanilla almond milk. Tastes like a milkshake… I love it.

Egg whites, an egg, half an avocado, sliced tomato, and sriracha sauce. Heaven for breakfast.

My night time snack before bed. A little plain greek yogurt with some almond butter. I like having the slow digesting protein before bed, especially after my tough workouts. Plus, almond butter has been shown to help you sleep! And I love it… So I combine them for the most amazing night time dessert ever.

On higher carb days I have been 1/4 cup oatmeal, 1/4 oat bran cooked in 1.25 cups of water. Then I add a tbsp of cocoa powder, scoop of vanilla protein, some almond milk and top it with protein frosting (protein powder mixed with almond milk till the right consistency), pb2, and sliced banana. 🙂 Next weeks high carb days will be a little different. More fruit instead of grains!

I’ve been drinking a ton of tea. I ordered Pumpkin Chai and Creme Brulee tea from David’s Tea. It’s amazing! I highly recommend their teas. They are so insanely good. I bought the steeper to make the loose leaf teas and let me tell you there is a huge difference between this stuff and the stuff that comes in the little baggies at the store. It’s so much better.

This picture is proof that you can go out to eat and order something completely clean and healthy! We went to a restaurant called Slice of Life on the island and asked for the summer salad. It had mixed greens, cucumber, and pistachios. We asked them to hold the lemon poppyseed dressing and asked for lemon wedges and added salmon on top. We asked them to cook the salmon in water instead of oil to keep it healthy!

This gallon jug of water has been my new best friend. I drink one every day. It’s creepy how much time we spend together. Almost as much time as my roommate and I! Literally that girl is my best friend and is doing this journey with me. I can’t express enough how proud I am of her with all of her progress and dedication.

This is us on my birthday after we celebrated with the champagne my boss gave me. 🙂 Literally we are twins. I can’t wait for her to do a guest post about her journey with you guys!

Have a great day guys!

 

 

Leave a Reply

