Taking Chances

I decided to be a little self-reflective this cold Sunday in Austin. I wanted to do a post about a topic that means a lot to me and is really prevalent in my life right now.

Taking Chances. No fear, just living.

“The meaning of life is not simply to exist, to survive, but to move ahead, to go up, to achieve and to conquer.” -Arnold Schwarzenegger

Being in Austin preparing this move has led me to think a lot about goals, dedication, perseverance, fear, and taking chances. I feel like sometimes we get stuck in life and just go through the motions and days without truly living and taking in every moment. Sometimes we get so caught up in what we are doing that this routine becomes our life. We become comfortable in certain places, doing certain jobs, thinking and wishing sometimes to do something different. Everyone has locked up passions and dreams of the things they would do if they could ever muster up the courage, have enough money, or enough support to just try. After thinking about this I realized that fear can stop so many dreams in their tracks because sometimes the thought of failing is just too much. Even some of the most supportive people in my life think that I am crazy for moving across the country at the age of 22 with no plans, no concrete jobs, no real direction. But the problem is they are thinking 20 steps ahead. I refuse to live my life in the future. The present is all we have. We have right now, every breath that you take is a new chance to start something. It’s another second of life where anything is possible.

I am so in love with health and fitness. I am making this big move in hopes that I get that dream job working in a gym training people who want to feel better, who want to be healthier, who want to change. Who knows if I am going to hear back from the job that I want. Who knows if I sign that lease on Monday if I will have a job by the time I move. Who knows if anyone will actually want to be my client when I try online coaching. I can’t think about the what ifs in life. Fear will lead you to stress about your future, about all of things you cannot control. This is even the case when people are trying to lose weight. Their mind is often wandering down to the finish line and how far away that line actually is instead of enjoying the ride they are on right now. Live in the journey every day, because every day you are making yourself better than the last.

If no one or one hundred people read this post I hope that someone walks away with the desire to live in the moment. To stop and for once not worry what tomorrow brings. To truly achieve and conquer what you love and want most in life. I would rather wake up dirt poor every single morning for the rest of my life loving every second of what I do than have all this money and comfort and be stuck in a routine that I am too afraid to break away from. Find your passion and you will work every single second of every day to make it happen. Every breath you take will be you fighting to make the best out of every moment.

Buy that plane ticket. Drive those 2,000 miles to the place you’ve always wanted to live. Leave the job you hate. Start living. We have this one life to live. Don’t waste another second. That was the biggest lesson I learned being 21. It is a lesson I continue to remind myself of every day. You can’t be afraid of failing. When you live a life in the moment full of passion, you cannot fail.

In two weeks I will make the drive to move 2,020 miles from home to a new state where I know absolutely no one, to hopefully get these jobs that I want so badly, and continue to discover who I truly am. It’s the scariest, most exhilirating feeling in the world. I hope that every day you choose to do something that scares the living shit out of you to remind yourself that you are alive.

Happy Sunday, everyone! ❤

Leave a Reply

