Getting Back on Track

I am finally back from Austin. I am really sad about it! But that’s okay I am making the 2,000+ mile drive back there in two weeks. I have actually finally gotten some call backs on some of the thousands of jobs I applied to, which is very exciting. I can’t wait to share with you guys what I finally end up in. I think you will all be very proud of me! 😉

As for getting back on track now that I am back from vacation… I am not anticipating that it is going to be that hard. I have come up with a rough food plan for the next week and I have a whole new workout routine for my roommate and I based off the LiveFit trainer’s second phase. We are actually going to try to follow her meal plan and workouts as close as we can. There are a few substitutions I am making due to equipment available at the gym.

Now that I am home, however, there is no excuse to not eat 100% healthy now that I have access to a kitchen. We ate pretty well every day in Austin minus the couple of cheat meals we had at La Condesa and a pit stop for some frozen yogurt and sorbet. Overall though, it was a good week. I am excited to get back into training for the National Physique Competition in July!

Here’s a rough outline of what I am doing this week to keep me on track.

Thursday: Back/Cardio: 1800 cal

Friday: Chest/Abs/Cardio: 1800 cal

Saturday: Legs: 1800 cal

Sunday: Arms/Abs/Cardio: 1500 cal

Monday: Shoulders/Cardio: 1500 cal

Tuesday: Legs: 1800 cal

Wednesday: Rest: 1500 cal

Now that I have finished cycling my carbohydrate intake we are moving into trying out nutrient timing. By timing when we intake starchy carbohydrates we can maximize fat loss while minimizing muscle cannibalization. This means that we can bulk at the same time as cutting down on fat. So the starches will only be consumed at the first meal of the day and at lunchtime. Other than that we are loading up on fresh veggies and lots of protein and healthy fats. Also, during nutrient timing you switch up how many calories you will intake a day based on the workouts you will be performing in the gym. For the major muscles that burn more calories when trained (Legs, Chest, and Back) you will intake 500 more calories than your ideal body weight x 10. I guessed on the body weight since the number on the scale doesn’t mean anything to me and picked a random number of 130 to make the math easy. On minor muscle days (Arms, Abs, and Shoulders) you only take in an extra 200 calories. Also, unlike what I was doing before I am adding in some moderate intensity cardio to burn some of that stubborn body fat while building up my muscle. After this phase is done (4 weeks) we will move back to carb cycling for another 3 weeks.

I can’t wait to fill you guys in on what I am working on in Austin currently for when I move. As always, I will update my blog as much as I can till then! I should have more time since I have fewer shifts at work due to all the new employees they hired while we were gone.

I can tell you one exciting piece of news! I finally bought the study materials and test dates for my National Academy of Sports Medicine certifications. I am getting certified in personal training and fitness nutrition. I can’t wait to share with y’all what I learn and the steps I am taking after. Hopefully you guys will be happy!

NASM is doing a fall savings special if anyone is interested. $100 off of a CPT certification and 10% off of all other certifications! Just use the code FALLSALE. The offer expires on October 14. Join me J We can be study partners!

Here’s some more pictures of the clean eats I have been having since I have been home! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. RECIPES FOR ALL THOSE PLEASE!!!! Love how positive you are all the time! Keep it up. I have kinda been half following Jamie Eason’s plan. I have it, but for the most part I use it for the exercises!!! Let me know how it goes!

    • Haha okay! So let’s see I have already posted recipes for the chili, meat muffins, and protein bars. They are just in a different post. 🙂 You can search them on my blog if you need to!

      As for the oatmeal, I used 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/4 cup oat bran and cooked it with 1.25 cups of water. When that was done cooking I removed it from the heat added 1 tbsp of coconut flax oil from Royal Harvest, a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and a ton of cinnamon and a cup of sliced strawberries. On days when I don’t feel like having eggs I also add one scoop of vanilla protein powder. As for the other things I just roast my veggies with salt, pepper, garlic, and cajun seasoning in the oven. And I cook my chicken on the stove in coconut oil with salt and pepper till it’s done! Hope that helps and answers all the recipe questions. Thank you so much for reading!!! Glad you enjoy the positive vibe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

