Thankful Thursday: Part I

It’s Thursday! And almost the weekend. 🙂 Except I guess every day has been a weekend day lately since I haven’t started my new jobs yet since moving. Speaking of moving and change; I think I have finally figured out my funk.

If any of y’all follow me on instagram or twitter, then you know that lately I have been in quite the funk. I try not to let things in life bother me because I believe that life is too short to dwell on everything that you cannot control or the future. I fully believe with hard work and dedication, everything will work out in the end. But lately adapting to a new place and all this change has put me in quite the depressed funk. I never want this blog to be a place that is anything but positive, so stick with me! I am going to end this on a positive note.

As most of my readers know I moved 2,000 miles away from my home where I grew up and lived for 22 years. 2,000 miles away knowing absolutely no one and having no family to fall back on. For the past week I have been in this funk that I can’t shake. I’ve felt sad, negative about myself and my body, pessimistic about my future in both my personal and professional life, and basically just an overall grump. I am never like that! I am usually a bubbly, positive, happy kind of gal.

But lately I’ve realized that sometimes changing big things in your life can lead to sudden insecurities. This happens to everyone of us. Sometimes things just happen and we feel the weight of the world on our shoulders. Most of the time we are equipped to keep standing, but every once in a while some of us fall down. True strength is acknowledging that you can’t always be strong. Sometimes you need some help and sometimes it’s okay to just let the world crush you for a second. I realized that I was being irrational about mostly everything I was sad about. I felt like I wasn’t going to make friends or connections here, that I was going to be awful at a job that basically has me interacting with people about fitness all day long (MY DREAM!). I was born to do this. I fully believe that even though I am currently swimming through the scariest moments of my life I am on the right track.

I was talking to my roommate yesterday and she helped me see that sometimes being overwhelmed by life can cause you to question everything. But you can’t lose sight of why you are making these choices for yourself. She doesn’t always realize that she is being helpful, but most of the time she’s the reason the world doesn’t completely bull doze me. I haven’t had many people in my life support the decisions I make. Most of the time everyone thinks I am crazy, or they have an opinion on why I shouldn’t do things. But she always pushes me to go after what I’m passionate about. And every time I stumble she reminds me it’s okay to stumble, but keep going because you won’t be satisfied if you give up now. Can’t stop, won’t stop baby.

So on this Thankful Thursday with Thanksgiving coming up, I wanted to have a shout out to my best friend. I feel like I am slowly pushing through the hard time I was experiencing. I’ve always been afraid that people are going to walk out of my life when things get hard. But she is always there even when I am being impossible. I know this sounds like some weird relationship, but if you knew us you’d understand.

So for now, I am going to ride out this test of faith. I usually shy away from talking about God and religion in this blog because I believe that everyone is entitled to believe whatever they wish. That’s the beauty of life. We are all so different, be true to everything you believe in. I am putting this in God’s hands and hoping that I find the path I am supposed to be on.

I hope y’all thank at least one person today that has made you a stronger and better person just by being in your life. Sometimes it’s nice to say thank you to those who help us get through the moments we can’t navigate on our own. Have a great Thursday everyone! 🙂

Leave a comment